top of page
Search

(she’s so pretty / it hurts) - a poem

Updated: Apr 24, 2021

(she’s so pretty / it hurts) she has a string between her lips a hook in my heart she tugs and it's the kind of pain that hurts so good I wouldn’t mind if she pushed the hook in deeper I wouldn’t mind if she stepped in closer I don't mind that she holds my heart in her hands (because she’s so pretty / it hurts)

I try to count the brush strokes I'd need to paint the magic she leaves behind every careful, carefree step to paint the wisdom in her words to paint the unspeakable things her smile has endured I’d paint a mural on the side of my house and above the lips that leave magic on mine I’d paint that "she’s so pretty / it hurts"

8 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Gen·der - a poem

(n) 1. something navigated with an internal compass you'll never be able to describe...

bottom of page