top of page
Search

When Harry Met Sally (1989)

The movie “When Harry Met Sally” came out in1989, my mother was 18. She’s pretty sure it was always playing somewhere in her all-women dorm that year. 31 years later, I turned 18 and we watched it together. And I’m so glad she did. Because it was beautiful. And hilarious. And heart-wrenching. And I loved it, too. There are many enemies-to-friends-to-lovers slow burn romances out there, but few as phenomenal or as iconic as this one. And few with so much hair.


Here how it begins: Sally (Meg Ryan) drives Harry (Billy Crystal) from the University of Chicago tp New York City, not because she likes him, but because they were going to the same place. It was both the practical and the kind thing to do. I believe she later describes the drive to a friend as “the longest night of [her] life.” When they get to the city, she drops him off at his new apartment and drives away.


This was first time I squealed (yes, squealed). They said goodbye as if that were it! “They don’t know,” I said to my mom, “That this is only the beginning of their movie.” Of course, they meet again by coincidence. And again, so random. And then once more in a random place by coincidence. And somewhere along the way they become friends, best friends, even though Harry has always claimed that men and women can’t really be friends (the sex part always gets in the way).

This movie made me laugh so hard I couldn’t breathe while also leaving me teary and clutching my heart. The beauty is in the details. The writing was incredible. The characters were always in the most mundane, interesting, realistic, and wonderful situations. The dialogue was a work of art on its own. So many good lines and great rallies (credit to the writer and the actors). The characters and their situations were chaotic and usually a mess and it all fit together seamlessly.

I 100% recommend this movie to any romantics, hopeless or otherwise. I think it will please your heart. And for anyone who doesn’t usually watch romantic comedies, I still recommend it. It is that good.

Oh, one more thing, I do not know if I am in love with Sally or if I merely relate to her very much. Either way (maybe both), I think she is a fantastic character.










Screenplay by Nora Ephron Directed by Rob Reiner

10 views0 comments
bottom of page