top of page
Search

my introduction - because words

Updated: Apr 24, 2021

This blog is a place for processing words, art, and ideas. Mostly. I’m working on some research about Pablo Escobar’s cocaine hippos, so that might show up as well.


I'm making this platform because words are everything to me, pages are where I meditate, staring at a blank page is my idea of adrenaline-seeking. I don't have a writing process. Writing is my process.


That is part of the reason why I do not have a neat description of what it is I write about. I read novels, I write novels, I listen to music, I write poetry, I look at other people’s short stories and try to figure out how they do it because my novel turned into a trilogy overnight and they fit all of that onto a few pages? I mostly read fiction and I’m critical, but not picky. My taste in music depends on the mood I’m in. In three years, I’ve filled three and a half journals with, well, all of that.


I'm long winded. I like categorizing things and then finding things that don’t fit into those boxes. I want to explore the world and I don’t need to leave my desk to start.


What do you think of stars? Why do we doubt ourselves so much? What am I supposed to do with empty pill containers?


There is so much in this world. There are billions of people, places, and stories you can learn about and that’s just from this very moment. Go back a year or a hundred and start all over. Wait that much time and there will be even more in the future. There is no such thing as the present, we cannot process the world fast enough, everything is in the past, therefore, the present is history.


The art alone. The most beautiful thing about humans is that we have always made art. Can you imagine? “I almost died hunting that lion with a spear. Whew. I should draw it on the walls of my house!” Can you imagine?


Yes! You can. Maybe not well, but you can imagine something. We can imagine anything.


This is my mind. Can you see why I'm trying to sort it some of it out?


I like learning about the way we communicate. Why do we do it? How do we did? No, I mean how, how did we get from cave paintings of handprints to a blog I can use to shout into the endless void that is the Internet?


I’m getting ahead of myself.


Hello, my name is Whit. I write reviews of media, poems, and other inklings I shake out of my head in the morning and leave them here. And I'm as confused as you are about it. It’s nice to meet you.


Edit 4/24/21: I've decided to tuck some of my collages around here, too.


(mine)

how do you cope

collage, 9" x 12"

March 2020

14 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page